Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Kaohsiung Day 1

After falling in love with Taiwan in 2012, I decided to head back for my biennial Asia Trip. As I didn’t have the best of times the last time I was there, I decided to give it a second chance and ventured to back to Hong Kong.

Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Planning
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: LAX to SFO
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: San Francisco
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Cathay Pacific Lounge at SFO
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: SFO to HKG
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: HKG to TPE
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Taipei Day 1
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Taipei Day 2
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Taipei Day 3
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Taipei Day 4
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Taichung

After getting a few hours of sleep, I woke up and finished packing as I was heading to Kaohsiung this afternoon. Feeling a bit peckish, I headed down to the Great Room for the complimentary breakfast. The complimentary breakfast is very similar to what one would find at a breakfast buffet. 

By the time I checked out, it was pass 10 AM. My train to Zuoying was departing in 1.5 hours so I decided to grab a taxi instead of the free shuttle bus (Ubus) from Taichung Park to the High Speed Rail Station. It is a little busy when I arrived at the station, luckily I had purchased my ticket after arriving in Taichung. Bad news was that there were no standard ticket available so I purchased a business class ticket for NT$1100 (about $35USD).

After arriving at Zuoying Station, I took a taxi to my hotel for the night. I picked Kindness Hotel Kaohsiung – Zhongshan Bade because the price was quite reasonable and it was close to the subway.

After dropping my things off, it was time to explore!
Visiting the Dome of Light at Formosa Station is a must for any visitor to Kaohsiung. The glass work will trick your mind into thinking you were anywhere but a subway station. After visiting the Dome of Light, you can head over Tuntex Sky Tower aka 85 Sky Tower for some view of the city. Usually after all this wandering, my stomach would demand food so I headed over to Dazzling Cafe for some mochi waffles and iced strawberry white chocolate mocha.

When I got back to the hotel, I was ready to knock out. Then I saw it… free ice cream!
Ice cream free of charge to guests! How does one refuse free ice cream?! 

2 scoops of Milk Caramel ice cream later, I was off to do laundry on the 6th floor. Luckily for me, no one was using the washing machines so I was able to do my laundry relatively quickly and was in bed before 10 PM!

Leave a Reply

