Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Taipei Day 4

After falling in love with Taiwan in 2012, I decided to head back for my biennial Asia Trip. As I didn’t have the best of times the last time I was there, I decided to give it a second chance and ventured to back to Hong Kong.

Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Planning
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: LAX to SFO
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: San Francisco
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Cathay Pacific Lounge at SFO
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: SFO to HKG
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: HKG to TPE
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Taipei Day 1
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Taipei Day 2
Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Taipei Day 3

What does one do on their last full day in Taipei? I’m sure many people would try to venture out and do something amazing like hike up a mountain to get spectacular views of the city or take a day to Beitou for the hot springs or Jiufen for the town that inspired Spirited Away.

What did I do? I slept in and didn’t leave my hotel until almost 1:30 PM to hang out with a friend that I haven’t seen since high school. I hadn’t seen this friend in over a decade and was surprised that we were both in Taipei at the same time. Since I just wanted to hang out and didn’t have anywhere in specific, we decided to head to NTU (National Taiwan University) to walk around for a bit. It was really nice to just relax, hang out with an old friend and explore NTU.

After saying goodbye, I headed back to my hotel for a short nap (notice a pattern here?) before heading out to the Shilin Night Market.

20160331_182602
It wasn’t too crazy when I got there.

I always thought that Asia was pretty conservative, in comparison to the US. But I saw these penis shape pineapple cake at the night market, I was floored… then I bursting out laughing.

20160331_180128
Guess what’s for sale?
20160331_180340
Shop front sign… seriously, you can’t miss it.

I guess I laughed a little too loud or hard. The shop keeper approached me and told me that these pineapple cakes are quite popular with Mainland Chinese tourists, they snatch these up like crazy and give them as souvenirs. She asked if I was interested in purchasing them and I thought about it for 2 seconds and politely decline. I have no issues bringing these home for souvenirs but the thought of possibly having to explain this to Customs when I returned home stopped me.

After walking around and eating delicious food for the next hour, I was exhausted and decided to head back to the hotel.

20160331_182513~2
Yup, I was at Shilin 🙂

2 thoughts on “Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: Taipei Day 4

Leave a Reply

