Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: SFO – HKG

Hello All, welcome back to my trip report! Previously on “Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2, I had just had a delicious bowl of wonton noodle soup from the Cathay Pacific Noodle Bar and was heading toward my flight. Without further ado, SFO – HKG!

CX 873
SFO – HKG
Boeing 777
March 27, 2016
12:50 AM – 6:10 AM (+1) Scheduled
01:05 AM – 6:46 AM (+1) Actual
Seat 2A

I must have walked really fast or the Lounge was super close to the gate. When I got to the gate, there was still time to go before boarding so I walked back to the duty free to browse. Unfortunately, nothing caught my attention so back to the gate I went.

By the time I got back, First Class was already called so I went line to board with Business Class. When I entered the aircraft, I was lead to my seat by a flight attendant she asked what I would like to drink. Of course, since this is Cathay Pacific First Class, I replied “Krug” please. A couple minutes later, she returned with Krug and an amuse bouche for me to enjoy. Pajamas and amenity kit were out out next (I can’t remember if the noise-cancelling headphones were already at my seat or if they were bought out with the pajamas and amenity kit). As I am enjoying my amuse bouche and Krug (which I think it is okay, not a big champagne connoisseur), I noticed that everyone was boarding through First Class. It was a bit awkward since you are trying to eat and people are walking by and making comments/watching you eat.

IMG_20160327_003309
Krug and Amuse bouche

20160327_002059
Super comfy First Class Seat
20160327_002118
Ottoman
20160327_002559
Amenity Kit

We departed about 15 minutes behind schedule and as soon as we hit cruising altitude, the flight attendants prepared for supper service. I went for the International selections instead of Chinese Favorites because well, I have Chinese food at home everyday so I figure I should go with the other selection.

20160327_014308_HDR
Caviar to start the meal
20160327_021757
Lemon pepper linguine, zucchini and roasted red pepper sauce. The flavor was there, the pasta unfortunately was way too dry.
20160327_023446
Camembert, Yellow Cheddar, Danish Blue, Herb Goat Cheese

The flight attendant noticed that I was only nibbling on my cheese plate and offered me another dessert from the menu but I  requested ice cream and an iced Hong Kong style milk tea and it was promptly bought to me.

20160327_075143
Ice Cream… Yum 🙂
20160327_095222
Iced Hong Kong Style Milk Tea

After all the food, I was beginning to feel a food coma coming on. I headed in to the toilet to change into my pajamas and when I returned… a comfy bed was calling out to me.

20160327_024927
Doesn’t this look comfortable? I slept great!

I slept an amazing 7 hours! I would have slept later if I didn’t need to get up and walk around. While I was awake, the flight attendant asked if I would like anything to drink so I ordered the Oriental Breeze, one of Cathay Pacific’s signature drinks. I was really looking forward to the Cathay Delight… but found out that they only serve it during the even months 😦

20160327_135736
Oriental Breeze with a view…

I ended up watching a few movies that I wanted to see to pass time. About 2.5 hours out of Hong Kong, the flight attendant asked if I would like to have breakfast.

20160327_130924
Mango Smoothie and fresh fruit (notice the egg looking thing in the upper left hand corner? that is the salt and pepper shaker!)
20160327_131906
Scrambled eggs, grilled apple wood smoked bacon, roesti potatoes, grilled Roma tomato and mushroom
20160327_145510_HDR
“After breakfast drink”

After breakfast and watching the moving map, I knew there was no way I would make my connection in Hong Kong. We were landing 30 minutes behind schedule and I had a checked bag so I told myself that I would be okay. Cathay would protect me on the next flight, but as to if I would get a first or business or economy seat? I had no idea.

Nevertheless, this flight was great. The flight attendants were friendly and engaging. The only con would be the supper meal (first meal) I had where the pasta was overcooked/dry. No wonder Cathay Pacific First Class has raved reviews, the hard product was great and the service was impeccable. I highly recommend Cathay Pacific First Class if you have the chance. I am glad to check this off my aspiration/bucket list.

7 thoughts on “Hong Kong and Taiwan Take 2: SFO – HKG

Leave a Reply

