Travel Essentials: What’s In My Carry-On Bag

Hi All!

It is that time of the year again… trip to Asia! [Destination(s) will remain a secret for now] I will be jetting off in a couple of weeks and I just realized that I have never posted a “What’s in My Carry-On” so I figured now would be a good time to post this.  If you are curious about what I bring on my trips (especially international flights) keep reading below.

The Bag

My go-to carry-on bag is my Beverly Bowtie Gym Bag in French Rose by Blogilates. I’ve had this bag since 2014 and I absolutely love it because of its size. The dimensions are 17″ L x 12″ H x 8″ W and it fits nicely underneath the seat in front of you, I’ve tested this out on my flights to San Francisco and Vancouver.

 

The Essentials

Passport – of course, this is one of the most important items! How can you travel internationally without a passport?

Wallet – of course, money is important too. I have several no foreign transaction fee credit cards, debit card (savings account unlinked) and my California ID.

Phone/Kindle charger – pretty straight forward, I will be using my electronics so chargers are required.

Converters – I mentioned in a previous post, it is importantly to bring converters since not every international destination you travel to uses the same voltages and plug socket.

Kindle – No matter how tired on a plane, I can’t sleep more than 6-7 hours and once I wake up, I can’t go back to sleep. So I always bring my Kindle to catch up on my readings, plus I like to do a bit of reading before going to bed.

Travel Folder/Binder – I am slightly OCD, I like to have all of my airline/hotel reservations, metro maps and other confirmations in one place so I often create a folder so I can access them easily. It doesn’t necessarily mean that I will bring the folder with me everywhere. I usually take out what I need and leave the folder in my locked luggage when I’m out.

Travel Folder
*Folder from 2014 Asia Trip to Japan and South Korea

Travel journal & pens – I am one of those people to have to write down my highlights of the day, what I ate, how much I spend & etc.; so I carry a travel journal (or 2). I always have at least 1 pen in my carry-on for filing out immigration/customs forms.

Scarf – For some odd reason, most of the flights have been pretty cold so I use my scarf to keep warm.

Flight 001 Carry On Quart Bag– of course you can’t forget about the liquids. I brought this back in 2014 for $5.86 and absolutely adore it. The size is perfect and very sturdy.

Toiletries – I keep toiletries to the bare minimal. I only bring along my toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, deodorant and moisturizer.

Spare outfit (including undergarment) – I always keep a spare outfit in my carry on (leggings, t-shirt dress and undergarments) just in case if the airlines misplace my checked luggage [knock on wood that it never happens to me].

Facial towelettes – I cannot leave the house without my Yes to Cucumbers facial towelettes. I use them to cleanse my face on the plane and they can remove makeup too!

External battery – My phone always seem to be running low on battery, it is probably due to Candy Crush… anyhow, I always keep an external battery in my carry on for emergency purposes.

Hair ties – I usually bring a packet with me since I tend to use/lose them quite easily and I don’t like have hair in my face.

—–

Well folks, the items listed above are what’s in my carry-on bag. I normally travel light so I don’t really bring things that I don’t need. I didn’t mention a make-up bag because I don’t really wear make-up except lip balm (I don’t really think that counts though). I’ll see you guys after I return from my vacation 🙂

Until next time,
Lisa

Leave a Reply

