A Canadian Birthday: Day 3

We woke up a bit later on Day 3 as this was my birthday! (well it was my birthday). We decided to head to the Twisted Fork for some breakfast as we both had hair appointments at 10 AM. Luckily for us, Twisted Fork and our hair salon was a mere 10 minute walk (from each other). The restaurant had a bit of a bar feeling to it because it was pretty cool that we were seated pretty close to the kitchen.

I opted for the Fresh Fruit salad & asiago scones, house made jam and vanilla yoghurt and Raspberry Ginger Fizz.

Screenshot_2015-11-15-21-54-30-2
Asiago scones with house made jam

Screenshot_2015-11-15-21-55-23-2
Fresh fruit salad with vanilla yoghurt

20150914_091335
Raspberry Ginger Fizz

I could have gotten something with alcohol in it…but again, I don’t drink…

After spending a good 45 minutes at the Twisted Fork, we headed over to the hair salon to get our hair done. Now, I won’t go into what type of service I had done…but it did take 2-3 hours.

It was nearly 1 pm by the time the both of us were done. We decided to head back to Granville Island for lunch. A good 15 minutes, we arrived at Granville Island! I had a craving for something warm since I was a bit cold and found pot pie!

20150914_144017
Chicken Pot Pie from A La Mode Bakery Cafe

We decided to walk around a bit to look around but left half an hour later. We went back to our hotel and took a nap before heading out to my birthday dinner.

For my birthday dinner, we went to West Restaurant. The restaurant was recommended to me by my friend, T. When I was looking for recommendations for Vancouver, she mentioned West. I decided to go with the Vegetarian Tasting Menu while my friend went with the Sea Tasting Menu.

DSC00021
Menu

DSC00026
Bread, butter and olive oil

DSC00029
Drinks! (don’t remember what they were…)

DSC00032
Amuse Bouche

DSC00035
First course

DSC00036
More drinks!

DSC00037
2nd Course

DSC00040
3rd Course

DSC00042
4th Course

DSC00043
Palate Cleanser

DSC00044
Dessert

DSC00051
Complimentary truffles

After the delicious dinner, we headed back to the hotel to get some rest as the next day was our last full day in Vancouver.

Until next time,

Signature

Leave a Reply

